Upgrades to Zoom – 5.5.0
Changes to existing features
Enhancement to alternative host feature
If the original host joins after the alternative host, the original host will always regain control of the meeting and become host. In addition, the alternative host will change roles. If the co-host feature is enabled for the meeting, the alternative host will become a co-host.
Raise hand for host and co-host - Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS
Hosts and co-hosts can utilize the raise hand feature along with meeting participants and webinar attendees.
Persistent non-verbal feedback - Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS
Non-verbal feedback, which is now included in meeting reactions, will return to the previous behavior, in which they are persistent until the attendee or host removes them. This includes the Yes, No, Slower, and Faster options.
Host can admit participants from the Waiting Room while within a Breakout Room – Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS
Host is notified of participants in the Waiting Room, even while currently in a Breakout Room. The host can admit each participant one at a time, or all at once. If pre-assignments for breakout rooms are active, participants will be asked to join their pre-assigned breakout rooms. Otherwise, the host can assign participants directly to the breakout room of their choosing.
Figure 2 - View as the host in a breakout room
Enhanced co-host privileges over Breakout Rooms - Windows, macOS, Linux
Co-hosts have the same breakout room controls as the meeting host, such as starting or ending breakout rooms, assigning participants, etc.
Move participants to main session from breakout room - Windows, macOS, Linux
Hosts and co-hosts have the option to assign a participant back to the main session, rather than ending all breakout sessions.
Improved grouping of security options when scheduling
The “Only authenticated users can join” option is now located in the Security section of the scheduling window, grouping it with Passcode and Waiting Room options to allow for easier selection and use of security features.
Hosts can enable Automatic Live Transcripts - (Host Only)
The host can enable automatic captions for the meeting. Enabling captions will great a caption bar at the bottom of the screen which will type what ever is said during the meeting. Users may also access the full transcription using the Live Transcript button at the bottom of their screen. By default, users will not be able to save the transcriptions.
Please note that Live Transcripts and Cloud Recordings are currently unavailable for breakout rooms.
Figure 5 - View as the host enabling captions
Figure 6- View as Host/Co-Host/Participants
Host can Suspend Participant Activity – (Co Host and Host only)
By clicking “Suspend Participant Activities,” all video, audio, in-meeting chat, annotation, screen sharing, and recording during that time will stop, and Breakout Rooms will end. Cohost and Host will still be able to unmute and turn their cameras back on.
The following actions will take place:
- The meeting will be locked and no one will be able to join
- All videos are stopped and users will be unable to re-enable them
- All mics will be muted and unable to turn them back on
- All breakout rooms will close and everyone will return to the meeting
- All recordings will be stopped. Recordings up to this point will be saved.
- All screen sharing will be stopped and locked.
- All chat will be locked.
- All annotations will be locked.