Q: Why can’t I access some of the icons when using the app on my mobile device?
A: If you can’t access an icon it is because it is an Ivey custom tool and is accessible on the web browser version only. For example, Alumni Directory, Room Booking, Career and Grades Report are available in a fully supported browser.
Q: Why do I have to keep accepting the conditions and terms when clicking on Alumni Directory?
A: This is a condition of using the tool for confidentiality purposes and must be accepted every time it is accessed.
Q: Why can’t I book a room using Room Bookings?
A: You can only book 7 days in advance with a maximum of 2 hours per day. You can book in 30 minute slots and you can have 4 – 30 minute bookings across 4 different rooms.
Q: Why am I getting so many emails from Canvas?
A: Your notification preferences are not set up correctly; log into Notifications under the Account icon and update how often you want to receive a notification on each activity.
Q: Why does my profile picture change when I change my Biography image?
A: When you change your Biography picture, it will also update your Profile picture. If you only want to change your profile picture, you can change it by clicking on the Account icon, click Settings and click on the small circular image and upload your image.
Q: How can I change the time from military time?
A: Selecting English United Kingdom will show military time. To change the time from military time, click on the Account icon, click Settings and click on Edit Settings on the righthand side, then click the down arrow for Language and select English US.
Q: How can I link a service to my Learn account ie. Google Docs, Linkedin, Twitter etc
A: To register for these services and link them to your Learn profile, click the Account icon, click Settings, scroll to Web Services and click on the service you would like to register for.
Q: Why can’t I see all my courses on the Dashboard?
A: You can only have up to 20 course tiles on your dashboard. You can customize the Dashboard by clicking the Courses icon and enabling the star beside the course that you want to display on the Dashboard.
Q: Why can’t I see all of my courses/events on my Learn Calendar?
A: If you look on the righthand side, you will see coloured blocks that correspond to your courses. You can only have 10 colour blocks clicked ‘on’ at one time. As you click over 10, blocks will become unclicked and will not show on your calendar.
Q: How can I link my Learn calendar to my Google calendars?
- Adding Learn to Your Google Calendar
- Click on the Calendar Feed in the Learn Calendar and copy the link that appears in the box
- In your Google Calendar, select the down arrow to the right of ‘Other Calendars’ and click Add by URL
- Paste the link and click Add Calendar
- The events from Learn will now be imported into your Google calendar.
Once your calendar has been updated, your personal Calendar and the Learn Calendar will be side by side. You will see your name at the top of the Learn calendar with an arrow pointing left. When you hover over this arrow, it will say ‘View in Overlay Mode’. If you wish to integrate the calendars together instead of view them side by side, click the arrow and the calendars will be integrated into one Calendar.
Your Learn calendar will not include your Google items.
Q: How far in advance does the calendar display?
A: All events of the last 30 days and all future events are included when exporting a canvas Calendar to a calendar outside of Learn.
Q: If I re-submit an assignment, can I retrieve the first copy?
A: No you cannot retrieve the original copy. Your instructor can see all submissions; as a student you can only see the most recent submission.